JScope
Power plantPower & energy

Keiyo Gas launches 2 MW/8 MWh grid-scale battery storage facility in Isesaki

Keiyo Gas Co., Ltd.Isesaki, GunmaPublished
InvestmentNot disclosed
PhaseCompleted
Start—
CompletionOct 2026
To completion
Today

Completed.

Keiyo Gas opened its first domestic grid-scale battery storage facility in Isesaki, Gunma, beginning full-scale operation on October 1, 2026. The 2 MW, 8 MWh high-voltage facility is operated by KG BESS LLC and was developed and constructed by Sun Village; Marubeni New Power handles market transactions as aggregator.

Project facts

Owner
Keiyo Gas Co., Ltd.
Listing
9539 Tokyo
Facility
Power plant
Sector
Power & energy
Location
Isesaki, Gunma, Japan
Investment
Not disclosed
Scale / capacity
2 MW output; 8 MWh storage capacity
Contractor
Sun Village Co., Ltd.
Completion
Oct 2026
Announced
Oct 5, 2026
Themes
power-grid, renewable-energy

Figures and schedules are as announced by the company or the public body concerned; plans can change. Amounts that were not disclosed are recorded as not disclosed, never estimated.

Also in Gunma4 projectsOn the map →

Latest in Power & energyAll Power & energy →

Chubu Electric Power starts commercial operation of Noba Solar Power Plant in Hachinohe

Power & energyAomoriCompleted

KC-22 Investment, jointly funded by Chubu Electric Power and Komata Construction, completed construction of the Noba Solar Power Plant in Hachinohe, Aomori, and began commercial operation on October 1, 2026. The plant has 1,990 kW of generating capacity and is expected to produce approximately 3.4 million kWh annually.

Kawada Industries installs 519.68 kW solar PPA system at Yasui Factory

Power & energyToyamaCompleted

Kawada Industries introduced an on-site solar power purchase agreement system at its Yasui Factory in Nanto, Toyama, starting September 1, 2026. The system is expected to generate 526,900 kWh annually, with surplus electricity supplied to three other Kawada facilities in the Toyama area.

Sumitomo Corporation starts construction of grid-scale battery storage facility in Namie

Power & energyFukushimaUnder construction

Sumitomo Corporation, through its wholly owned subsidiary BS Holdings, has started construction of a grid-scale battery storage facility (rated output 62 MW, storage capacity 291 MWh) in Namie, Fukushima, financed via project finance led by MUFG Bank. The facility was selected under Japan's long-term decarbonization power source auction, with commercial operation planned for 2029; the disclosure does not state the investment amount, contractor or equipment supplier.